planning out a tattoo

Published July 3, 2013 by lisaolisa

Here are some pictures to go with my words so Matt has an idea of what I’m explaining terribly.

My drawing skills peaked in 5th grade with a pencil horse head on loose leaf that people later didn’t believe I drew, so here is a hodgepodge of web images that, cobbled together, would be close to what I see in my head: a heart with a not-too-curlicue ribbon horizontal across the front, pierced by cupid’s arrow from the top right to the bottom left, and, if I can withstand the additional time, offset by my favorite daylily.

Step 1: Start with a sort of Sailor Jerry heart, like the example that says ‘NAME’, similar to the stand-alone, which has a ribbon that is a little bit too froufrou.

sailor-jerry-flashthCAAUKASG

Step 2:

Make the red more candy apple red and the texture a little less two-dimensional — sort of like the stand-alone. I just don’t want it to be so shaded that it looks like it’s trying too hard to appear three-dimensional, like the UI of OS X first release did.

Step 3:

Use a more contemporary Flash font, with serif and just a little embellishment, like the home page of The Body Shop website does, to spell out ‘SWEETIE’. Here are some bad examples:

23_VTC-Freehand-Tattoo-One-Font-500x305TattooGirl

Step 4:

If I’m still in the chair, which is doubtful, add the little flower details like the example, except instead of pansies, use my favorite flower: Hemerocallis ‘Strawberry ‘Candy’. This example appears true to color on the PC I’m using:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

If I were made of stronger stuff, I’d use an Anna’s hummingbird up top and Lonicera ‘Goldflame’ on the bottom. That’s what we have in our garden and they are very special to us.

anna-hummingbird AnnasHummingbirdMale (2) AnnasHummingbirdPH1 FemaleAnnaHummingbird

5899-goldflame-honeysuckle-close-up 5899-goldflame-honeysuckle-extreme-close-up honeysuckle (3) Honeysuckle HoneysuckleGoldFlame

Leave a Reply

